Delafuente: Cucurella s European Cup handball is not considered a foul according to the rules at that time
Spanish coach De La Fuente attended the press conference and was asked whether Cucurella's handball should be judged during the European Cup last year against Germany. He said that according to the rules at that time, he did not count as a handball foul and said that this did not change the direction of the game.
"The rules were clear at the time - not counting handball. If there was any doubt, a penalty would be awarded - especially in a stadium full of German fans."
"But if we were to discuss Cucurella's handball, it should also be mentioned that in the previous scene, a German striker was likely offside, or Cross might have been sent off by a red card early in the game. In my opinion, Cucurella's handball was just a small episode and did not change the direction of the game. I think we performed better overall."